Monday, December 7, 2009

UP Writers Night 2009

Christmas is always something to look forward to in UP Diliman. And Christmas on campus is not complete without the annual UP Writers Night organized by the Likhaan: UP Institute of Creative Writing (UP ICW). This year’s celebration for writers and literature enthusiasts will be held on December 11, 2009, from 5:00 to 10:00 p.m. at Balay Kalinaw.

UP Writers Night coordinator, Dr. Mario Miclat, Dean of the UP Asian Center and UP ICW Associate, says the celebration signals the return to the more laidback and low-key gatherings of the 90’s. The decision was made in keeping with the series of calamities that has hit the nation in 2009.

UP Writers Night’s activities for this year include a forum on the best first books of 2007 and 2008, a journal launch, a book donation drive launch, performances by writers and musicians, and an open mic.

The celebration begins with the Madrigal-Gonzalez Best First Book Award forum at Balay Kalinaw Conference Room C at 5:00 p.m. The forum will honor the four best books published in 2007 and 2008 by first time book authors. These are The El Bimbo Variations by Adam David, The Proxy Eros by Mookie Katigbak, Girl Trouble by Alan Navarra, and Antisipasyon by Victor Dennis T. Nierva. The forum will be participated in by the panel of judges composed of UP Professor Neil Garcia, DLSU Professor David, Bayot, and award-winning poet Angelo Suarez.

At 7:00 p.m. the celebration moves to the second floor of Balay Kalinaw for the Madrigal-Gonzalez Best First Book Award ceremony. This year’s winner is Adam David for The El Bimbo Variations. David will receive a plaque and a cash prize of P50,000.00 from the Madrigal-Gonzalez family. Best-selling author Vlad Gonzales will perform a selection from David’s winning book.

Likhaan Journal 3 will be launched after the awarding. Likhaan Journal is the refereed journal of contemporary Philippine literature of the UP ICW. Dr. Cristina Pantoja Hidalgo, UP Vice President for Public Affairs and UP ICW Fellow, edited this year’s volume. The contributors are Mikael Co, Kristian Cordero, Carlomar Daoana, Karl De Mesa, Chuckberry Pascual, Zosimo Quibilan Jr., Rica Santos, Joel Toledo, Edgardo Maranan, Ana Maria Harper, Dustin Celestino, Frank Cimatu, Joi Barrios, Vlad Gonzales, Butch Guerrero, Sharon Pangilinan, Jun Cruz Reyes, Rommel Rodriguez, Ricardo de Ungria, Eugene Evasco, and National Artist for Literature Bienvenido Lumbera. Likhaan Journal 3 is published by the UP ICW and comes out once a year. Previous editors are Jose Y. Dalisay Jr. and National Artist for Literature Virgilio S. Almario.

Because of the damage caused by typhoon Ondoy on the libraries of many writers, day care centers and public school libraries, the UP ICW is launching Operation Libreng Libro on UP Writers Night. Dr. Jose Y. Dalisay Jr., UP ICW Director, says, “the book donation drive aims to help rebuild the collections lost to the flood.” Guests are encouraged to bring books and cash donations (for the purchase of books) to the event. The books will be distributed after UP Writers Night.

A series of performances by musicians and writers and an open mic complete the evening. Among the performers are Makiling Ensemble, The Batutes, Los Chupacabras, Cel Flores Coscolluela, Babes Alejo with the Nukluz, Mikael Co, Banaue Miclat, and UP Professor Emeritus and UP ICW Adviser Gemino Abad.

Likhaan Journal 3 and the best first books of 2007 and 2008 honored by the Madrigal-Gonzalez Best First Book Award Forum will be available at the UP Press Bookstore on the ground floor of Balay Kalinaw. The bookstore will remain open for the duration of UP Writers Night to allow Christmas shoppers and guests more time to avail of their year-end discount sale.

Balay Kalinaw is at the corner of Guerrero and Dagohoy Streets in UP Diliman, Quezon City. UP Writers Night is open to the public and admission free. For details, contact the UP ICW Secretariat at (02) 9221830.